Brownell and Thompson Awards

The Cape Elizabeth Education Foundation is thrilled to announce the recipients of both the Brownell Award and Thompson Awards for Cape educators. The Thompson Award, named in honor of Timmy Thompson, celebrates a member of the Cape Elizabeth school community who has gone above and beyond for students. Our annual Brownell Award, in honor of retired CEHS teacher Elaine Brownell, celebrates an outstanding grant from a previous year.

The Brownell Award, named for and presented by retired CEHS teachers Elaine Brownell, recognizes the successful implementation and significant impact of a CEEF grant. Two Cape High School educators were awarded this year for their “Prometheus Board” grant – Tom Farmer and Beth Mylroie.  Looking for a way to enhance learning in CEHS Life Skills class, Farmer and Mylroie researched the use of these boards across the state. They saw the ability of these interactive boards to engage their students in new ways, encouraging participation and learning.

The second award presented that morning was the Thompson Award. Given each year by Nancy and Tim Thompson in honor of their son Timmy, the award celebrates a member of the Cape district who shows particular dedication and impact on Cape schools. This year Russel Thompson was on hand to honor Dave Croft of CEMS who truly has gone above and beyond for Cape.  Nominated by several colleagues, all who noted Croft’s “caring commitment to all students in the school.” A three-season coach at the high school as well, Croft helps students throughout their education in Cape Elizabeth.

Brownell Award

The Brownell Award, named in honor of retired high school mathematics teacher Elaine Brownell. This award recognizes a faculty member who did an outstanding job implementing a CEEF grant during the prior year.

2021 “Summer Literacy Program (Becky Swift, Mary Dulac, and Rosemary Ginn) 2020 “Finding Perfect” CEMS Read-Along (Jill Young) and Inspired Spaces (Hope Taylor)
2019 Summer Exploration (Joyce Nadeau, Courtney Ferrell)
2018 CEHS TV
2017 Sexual Assault Awareness for Everyone
2016  Freshman Academy
2015  Middle School Library and Learning Commons
2014  Betsy Nilsen

2013 Cameron Rosenblum

2012  Susan Dana
2011  Ginger Raspiller
2010  Gretchen McNulty
2009  Rebecca Bean
2008  Debbie Butterworth/Tom Eismeier
2007  Tom Lizotte
2006  Evan Thayer

Thompson Award

This award was established by Tim and Nancy Thompson in memory of their son Timmy. This award honors a faculty or staff member who goes above and beyond what is expected, providing a lasting and meaningful impact on Cape Elizabeth students. The Cape Elizabeth Education Foundation is pleased to give this award at the end of August each year. 

2021 Jeff Shedd

2020  Jill Young
2019  Amanda Marsden
2018  Tom Lizotte
2019  Ted Jordan
2016  David Brown
2015  Bri Gallagher
2014  Scott Shea
2013  Pam Vose
2012  Andrea Cayer

2011  Elaine Brownell
2010  John Casey
2009  Joe Doane
2008  Julie Tselikis
2007  Rick Madd
2006 Ben Raymond

Back to Top